DIY – Vintage Window Pane Picture Frame

So… again my wife found this window pane at the Habitat for Humanity Restore. $5. That place is pretty legit. Many a good find there.

We knew we had to do something awesome with this frame but as it sat in the Hilliard home for about a month we were stumped. Thank the Lord for pinterest. Rach got some pinspiration and we were off. Team Hilliard was in motion.

Distressed Window Pane - DIY

Distressed Window Pane – Before Picture

We had hundreds of great wedding pics but had yet to use them much. So, we splurged and hit a 20×30 wedding photo from shutterfly for little over $20. Nice! Spluge for us on a tight budget but heyyyyy what can you do when your inspired? The window pane was a little smaller than the picture but we thought we could cut it to size if needed.

Ryan and Rach Wedding pic

The picture was a wee bit big for the 20×24 window pane so we trimmed it up.

Trim Job

We simply taped the picture to the wood frame of the back of the pane.

Then we had to get creative with the hanger. We made the normal stop at the Home  Depot and paid around $2 for some wire cut to fit the frame. We used a staple gun and a little hammering to make sure it was a good fit. We also tested the hanger with a spotter a couple times. Try to get a wire that is thin enough that you can twist it if needed. The first piece of wire we bought was a little too thick and wasn’t able to be looped to be secured.

Hanging the Frame

Hanger complete.

We used 3 nails and hammered those bad boys in and….

DIY - Vintage Window Pane Picture Frame

Our Vintage Window Pane Picture Frame

Sweet!

We now have a nice 20×24 framed wedding picture in a window pane in our living room. All for around $27.

The Hilliard home is now a little more complete. More to come…

15 thoughts on “DIY – Vintage Window Pane Picture Frame

    • We luckily didn’t have to. One side was already painted white. I did end up sanding it a little because there was some chipping from the paint being old. I liked the rustic look, so I was ok with it looking warn!

  1. Awesome look and yet so simple … Thank you ; we live on a ranch out in Texas and I have some photos of my son out at the barn with horses, SO of course this will be perfect for my decor !!!

  2. Did the back of the frame also have those seperators? Basically there is a small amount of space from the actual picture and the glass?

    • Yes, both sides had space between the glass and the picture. I believe the side that is facing outward would have been the outside of the window, if that makes sense? The side where I attached the picture was a little more flat, but the picture isn’t affected by it. I hope I answered your question!!

  3. I really like this. I have an old window pane that I don’t know what to do with and now I do! Thanks for the inspiration. Think I’m going to do a picture of my kiddos for mine.

  4. Woah this blog is wonderful i like studying your posts. Keep up the good paintings! You recognize, lots of people are looking around for this info, you can help them greatly.

    • I think we just used good old scotch tape. Nothing fancy Just lined the sides all the way around, there was about a half inch or more of space along the window pane frame to tape it. Hope this helps!

  5. I saw one window project with large picture that was cut to fit each pane. I don;t want to cut my picture and it doesn’t look like you had to either. Did the picture gap any, or not seem flushed to he window?

Leave a Reply

